Stuffing box not dripping

Things that are of general interest.
balthaus
Aluminum Star

Stuffing box not dripping

Post by balthaus »

I noticed that ther is no water dripping from the stuffing boxes while at dock.
I will order new packing from gfo but was wondering what the "proper drip rate" should be.
1984 32' Sedan FB
Twin Chrysler 360's
1.52:1 Velvet Drives
Raw water cooled
Ohio River
barkleydave
Site Admin

Re: Stuffing box not dripping

Post by barkleydave »

With GFO you can run with little or no drip at dock.

Mine no drip when idle. Slight few drops per min. turning
1987 Marinette 29 FB Sedan
Retired Boat Accident UL and USCG trained investigator
Retired USCG Captain
Aquaholic
Tin star

Post by Aquaholic »

A couple questions about stuffing boxes/packing. MiNE was more than dripping at the end of last season (I'm new to inboard boats). I am thinking that I likely should have replaced packing prior to launch yesterday, but I did not :-( instead, I just tightened them up a half turn or so. After launch, I have a steady stream coming in. So, should I try tightening more? How do I know what to tight is? I don't want to damage or groove the shaft as I have read can happen. Also, has anyone changed packing on them while in the water? Is this a terrible idea?
Aquaholic
1989 32 Marinette Sedan "Aquaholic"
1973 28 Marinette Express "Easy Does It"
McConnelsville OH
Muskingum River
Busia
Royal Aluminum Star

Post by Busia »