No power to some instruments on dash

A/C & D/C Wiring, GPS, Radios, etc.
nascarjonb
Tin star

No power to some instruments on dash

Post by nascarjonb »

Hello fellow BigM Lovers!
I took my first ride in my new to me 1986 marionette 28 sport fisherman with cabin and fly bridge on Sunday. I found out that the depth finder, horn, blower motor, and syncronisor screen were not working. I am a Automotive Technician so Im very familiar with how 12 volt DC works so I tore into the switch panel and I found that there were a few orange wires that feed power to the switch bank. The one orange wire that feeds power to all of those non working electronics does not have any voltage so i must assume i have a open in the circuit. I temporarily jumped from another wire that feeds both bilge pump switches and the lorance GPS. I found that this worked to get everything working for the weekend. I have looked all over this boat and I am unable to find a fuse box. I found one breaker on the fly brige for all of the instruments but it was fine. I cant find wear this wire originates from. on the power distribution panel there are not any orange wires, and also the wire disappears behind the dash to the starboard side.

My question is should I make a permanent jump from that circuit that is working, does anyone know wear I can find this wire originates so i can fix it, or should I run a new wire??

If i should run a new wire wear do they run the wires up to the bridge and should I run from the battery?
1986 28 fisherman
twin chryser 360's
Marblehead, Ohio
Rob
Tin star

Re: No power to some instruments on dash

Post by Rob »

Look in the head. The mirror/medicine cabinet might swing open and the fuse box might be there. It was on my older than your model. My head was in front of the helm starboard side.
1973 32' FB Express
Cincinnati, Ohio
javalin390
Royal Aluminum Star

Post by javalin390 »