Winterizing Chrysler engines on the hard- raw water system

Engines, Shafts, Steering, Struts, Rudders, etc.
bill
Royal Aluminum Star

Winterizing Chrysler engines on the hard- raw water system

Post by bill »

BigM Michigan Winter's :x
This is how I winterize my Chrysler engines on the hard. :mrgreen:
I have been doing it this way for 12 years and no problem :!:

:arrow: This is for a raw water cooled system. (lake water pumped threw engine) :!: :!: :!:

I- DO NOT- remove drain plugs. :idea: However if you want to save on the anti freeze you could remove the inboard drain plugs for the block and reinstall after draing the one side of the block. I have twin 360's so the drain plugs on inboard side of each engine are easier to remove.

Gather your supplies and equipment as follows:

From Go2marine order one of these--
Qty. 1
Price 23.45

Moeller, Inboard Adjustable Motor Flusher
Mfr. Moeller
Part No. 242007 | Mfr No. 099081-00

Obtain a 5 gallon plastic bucket. Loews or Home Depot $5.00

I used 1- 1/4" clear vacuum cleaner hose that I had laying around the garage.
Long enough to reach the water pick under the boat to the exhaust line at the rear.

Note:
I used vacuum cleaner hose because it has spring wire molded into the hose and
it keeps it from collapsing under the vacuum from the engine pump and the heat
produced by running the engine.
And it was free to me.

Obtain the necessary fittings to attach the hose to the motor flusher and the bottom
of the bucket. Again Loews, Home Depot or your local Hardware store.

3 gallons -100 degree R/V antifreeze. $9.00 Blue in color not pink stuff :!: NOTE: This is per engine :!: :roll:

Simple attach the 5 gallon bucket under the exhaust pipe and the motor flusher under the water pick up.

Attach a 3" PVC elbow to the exhaust port.

Make sure you have a good seal between the Adjustable Motor Flusher and the hull. :oops:

Dump 3 gallons of -100 degree R/V antifreeze ( not the pink stuff) into the bucket.