New member with questions, Sedan 32

Things that are of general interest.
edwoerle
New poster

New member with questions, Sedan 32

Post by edwoerle »

I'm a typical 78 year old (bad knee, bad teeth, bad breath) considering getting back into boating. It's been 25 years since I last piloted a boat, and never a twin screw or this large.

The boat I'm looking at is in really good shape, one engine low time the other about 1400 hours. No genset. Stripped and painted in '13, new batteries and charger last year.

First, am I fooling myself that I can safely single hand this size boat? Most of my time aboard will be alone. Not even a cat. I would be running the Tennessee river and Tenn-Tom waterway.

Secondly, do I need to consider installing a genset, and if so, what would you suggest? I'm not sure of the available dimensions, but there was a gen previously installed. How much trouble would it be wiring everything up?

Lastly, a probably dumb question; I'm a pilot, and use a program called Forefrlight on my iPad for navigation. Is there anything like that for boating?

Thanks in advance for your interest and help.

Ed
PS---I know, I didn't include a signature. As soon as I figure it out I'll include one.
GB49
Royal Aluminum Star

Re: New member with questions, Sedan 32

Post by GB49 »

In my opinion handling a 32 with the wind on the beam can be tough, and doing it by yourself makes it even more difficult. Maybe things are different on the river but on the Great Lakes its always windy and it always seems to be pushing me off the dock.
If you end up using the boat as a cottage tied to the dock you will love it. If you plan to travel, you might want to look for something with more hull in the water and less height.

I would think a generator would be handy if you plan on being on the hook for days at a time. I have always liked Cummins Onan. Be careful where you mount the generator. Most install between the engines but makes engine service difficult.